Cooking for Love

11 Jun

I am a family girl.

Family is the most important thing in my universe.

In November I was blessed with a second family to call my own. When I married my beautiful husband Mark, I inherited his Mum and Dad (Helene and Gerald), two older brothers (Brett and Peter), and sister in law (Linzi). Since then, the magnificant little Lily Josephine has joined our family, and enriched it beyond imagination.

Today is a sad day for Linzi and Brett, they are attending the funeral of Linzi’s dear friend’s mother. Funerals are exhausting things, I always leave them feeling incredibly flat and making dinner is often the last thing I feel like. And I don’t have a 3 month old baby either!

I am fortunate enough to have four days off work over the long weekend, and because i’m oh-so-organised (!) I had my housework all done quite early today, so I turned my attention to making Linzi and Brett (and baby Lily) a comforting, wintery, home made meal. I think cooking for someone is such an easy, but pleasureable thing to do. It is something we can ALL do, meaning that we can’t take the sadness of a friend dying away, we can’t make a baby sleep through the night, we can’t make a mother’s exhaustion disappear, but we can make food. 

My Mum often cooks this recipe, and I feel warm and cozy whenever I eat it.

Ultimate comfort food!

Cottage Cheese Loaf

Ingredients
  • 500g lite cottage cheese
  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 1 large finely chopped brown onion
  • 4 tablespoons olive oil
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vegemite
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • Sprinkle of mixed herbs
Method
  • Simply mix ingredients together using your (freshly washed, ringless) hands
  • Spread mixture into a greased oven proof dish
  • Bake for 40 minutes at 200’C
  • Serve with any vegetables your heart desires!

I would serve this with boiled baby potatos with butter and chives, lovely green asparagus and anything else I had in the fridge! 

A little tip on boiling potatoes – or anything starchy! If you add a splash of olive oil to your water, you won’t get that horrible starchy foam which boils over and makes your stove look dirty!

8 Responses to “Cooking for Love”

  1. Clansi June 11, 2010 at 5:05 pm #

    Yum! I have a recipe very similar to this, cottage cheese loaf is a winner!

    And I now have stove envy!

  2. Jen June 11, 2010 at 5:55 pm #

    Good choice Ek. I thinks all our boys like this one too which is a bonus. I think I originally got this recipe from Dale, who has been my lifelong friend since I met her at highschool. She was my bridesmaid, and has been a vital part of all our lives to this day; including being a pivotal member of your entourage when you got married. You and she have always had a special connection which is so lovely.
    That makes the world go round to me!
    I love you

  3. linzi June 12, 2010 at 10:32 am #

    Erica, you brought tears to my eyes when I read this. We love you and we LOVE your motivation in life – Family – there is no other reason for being really! I don’t deserve such a gorgeous sister-in-law, but I am SO SO glad you’re ours!
    This cottage cheese bake was delicious, and a real comfort today especially. Now that you’ve given us the recipe I am going to ‘pay it forward’ and make it for Rahni and her family next week along with some yummy muffins, which I’ll give you the recipe for – sharing is caring! xo

  4. linzi June 12, 2010 at 10:35 am #

    …also meant to say…
    There was never a day that highlighted the importance of family as yesterday when we were faced with the realisation that my dear friend now has no living parents. Praise God she is a spectacular mum of 4 beautiful children and will confidently carry on her mum’s & dad’s legacy of love for each other and for Jesus.

  5. Dale June 13, 2010 at 10:35 am #

    So glad that this recipe is still around and am so happy that it brings comfort. Ek, you are right, it is the ultimate comfort food. I usually serve this with hot apple sauce which seems to be a winner. You have inspired me to become internet savvy so I can keep upto date with your gorgeous blog! Clever Girl!

  6. 173misst June 15, 2010 at 9:59 am #

    Hey Ek, I’m going to give this one a whirl!
    Also wanted to note that we have the same knives. 🙂

    T.

    • ericaaitken June 15, 2010 at 10:51 am #

      Nice work!
      It is sooooo easy, and keeps in the fridge for about a week, because there is no meat in it!
      How fab are our knives – i’m in love with ours. We got them for an engagement present!
      xo

      • 173misst June 16, 2010 at 1:04 pm #

        Ours were either an engagement or wedding present too, I love them!

Leave a Reply

