A Greedy, Needy, Life-changing Love

12 Jun

I have been devouring the latest issue of the Donna Hay Magazine over the last few days. This morning, I turned the last page, and was pleasantly surprised with what I saw featured on her “Things I Love” page.

Here she writes lovingly about the macaron. This caught my eye as my husband loves macarons, and I’ve been wanting to try cooking them for a while. This may just be the little push I needed. In the interim, enjoy how Donna waxes lyrical about her favourite biscuit.

“When I was 24 years old, I visited Paris for the first time and fell deeply in love. It was a greedy, needy, life-changing love and it was with a petite Parisian more beautiful than any I’d ever seen. I fell in love with the macaron. From the moment I locked eyes on the colourful pods in neat rows, their crisp shells back to back, it has been an ongoing ardour. I know it’s true love, because I can never fault them and I never tire of them. My hunt for the perfect macaron has seen me enter every patisserie from Sydney to Soho. Their softly chewy fillings and myriad flavours drawing me in every time. I love the way their fragile crusts form little peaks on top that look as if they’ve been kissed before they were baked. And, although I still covet these heavenly confections from Pierre Herme in Paris, I’m delighted my love for the macaron is no longer restricted by a long haul flight. Now I keep the general store’s confiserie stocked with an array of delectable macarons, and indulge in my sweet affair as often as I like. But the most exciting thing about this love is that it’s best shared, so that everyone can enjoy a little joie de vivre” (Donna Hay Magazine, Issue 51, p.170).

3 Responses to “A Greedy, Needy, Life-changing Love”

  1. Kirstin Mills June 12, 2010 at 5:10 pm #

    Mmm, yum. Coincidentally, I had my first one of these today! 🙂 Poh’s Kitchen did a lovely episode on these…such cool history for a tiny, tasty treat!

  2. Linzi June 12, 2010 at 6:42 pm #

    This is a love we have in common! A couple of years ago I had my first macaron at the Lindt cafe in martin place with my boss after a client meeting. It was such a blissful taste so amazing that I felt guilty to be sharing the moment with someone other than my husband!! We took a box of them back to the office for sharing with the team which included our Marko, so perhaps we fell in love with them on the same day! I did find a recipe and attempted to make them, they didn’t look quite right but they were still yummy! I hope to see photos if you ever make them…oh and a taste test too!

    • Nadine June 13, 2010 at 8:47 pm #

      May I suggest for you an excursion to Balmain… to Adriano Zumbo’s Pattissiere (spelling?). He has the most AMAZING range of macaroon flavours – even flavours that sound so weird – like chickpea/lime and caramel… delightful though.
      Enjoying reading your blog! Masterchef 2011 for you!!

Leave a Reply

