Intrigued by Zucchini Flowers…

16 Jun

 I am incredibly intrigued by the pretty and delicate flowers of the zucchini plant.

MasterChef seems to use these regularly, and the are often featured on the menus of fancy restaurants!

Has anyone ever cooked with these blossoms?

Have you ever eaten them?

Share your thoughts, experiences and recipes with us!

 

5 Responses to “Intrigued by Zucchini Flowers…”

  1. Clansi June 17, 2010 at 10:51 pm #

    I’ve eaten them a couple of times. Once at a friends wedding, where they were stuffed with ricotta, battered and deep friend and once at my Mum’s house, where she had stuffed them with ricotta and shallow fried them.

    On both occasions they were DELICIOUS.

    I have not tried cooking them myself, even though we grow them every summer!

  2. nicholasdixon June 21, 2010 at 8:29 am #

    Whilst at Cretaiole, the Tuscan farm we stayed at in Pienza a few weeks ago, they celebrated their annual Festival of Flowers. What ever you could think of, they had a flower version of it including the food. Our hostess, Isabella cooked deep fried zucchini flowers (and others) and sold them in paper cones. They were delicious. I’m going to send her a link to your blog and see if she will contribute the recipe.

    On a similar vein, in Paris last week, I rediscovered a fruit we used to eat in Perth as kids. Haven’t seen them since. They are called Physalis or Cape Gooseberry (as we used to know them). Then tonight in Bath, I had an Italian version of a sticky date pudding and it had a Cape Gooseberry (with the papery husk peeled back) as an edible garnish. Looked great and tasted sensational. It is a real flavour burst when you bite into it.

    I’ll send you a pic by email

    I love reading your words darling, I can hear your voice as I read. See you soon, I love you. Dad xx

  3. Kristy June 24, 2010 at 12:43 pm #

    Hey lovely! Yeah you should go to Fratelli Freah, they do these incredible 4cheese zuchini flowers which are to die for! Blue, taleggio, ricotta and u think it’s mozzarella….they are stuffed and then shallow fried until slightly crisp and golden….so yummy!xx

  4. Caryn June 25, 2010 at 9:15 pm #

    Hi Erica,

    Zucchini flowers are a very delicious. First time I tried them was pretty similar to what everyone else has said so far, filled with ricotta and battered then deep fried. Another way I have tried it is filled with chive and cream cheese lightly fried and allowed to cool then had various dipping sauces like a tomato relish type thing. Absolutely delicious!

  5. twistedvines July 3, 2010 at 8:21 am #

    I’ve just put a recipe on my blog today for stuffed zucchini flowers. Here is Italy we eat them all the time, when they’re in season, picked fresh from our garden. I prefer to bake not fry though.

Leave a Reply

