Tanya and Curtis’ Fennel and Potato Soup

6 Jul

My friend Tanya is gorgeous girl who likes fun times and yummy food – maybe that’s one reason why we’re friends!

Recently Tanya cooked Curtis Stone’s roasted fennel and potato soup, and I loved it. I knew there was something extra  in the soup, and that it wasn’t merely potato and leek, but I couldn’t quite pick the fennel taste, as it was very subtle, but definitely gave it a depth of flavour which was beautiful.

I made it for tea tonight, the perfect meal for a rainy, wintery night – complete with crusty ciabatta toast and pastrami – oh, and the ultimate luxury – warm pyjamas, MasterChef and my husband : )

Roasted Fennel and Potato Soup

Ingredients
  • 2 fennel bulbs, trimmed and coarsely chopped
  • 1 small onion, coarsely chopped
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1 leek, coarsely chopped
  • 6 cups chicken stock
  • 500g russet potatoes, peeled and cut into large chunks
  • 1 cup lite cream (if you are like me, you can do without the cream, but I will use it when I have guests and want to impress!)
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • Chives to serve
Method
  • Preheat the oven to 180’C
  • Toss the fennel and onions with 1 tablespoon of oil on a large heavy baking tray to coat. Roast in the oven for 25 minutes, stirring occasionally, or until the fennel and onions are tender.
  • Heat the remaining 1 tablespoon of oil in a large heavy saucepan over medium heat. Add the garlic and sauté for 1 minute. Add the leeks and sauté for 5 minutes, or until softened slightly.
  • Add the broth, potatoes, and roasted fennel mixture and bring to a simmer.
  • Continue simmering for 18 minutes or until the potatoes are very tender. Remove the soup from the heat and cool slightly.
  • Working in batches, puree the soup in a blender until smooth.
  •  Strain the soup into a clean large saucepan.
  • Add the cream to the soup and bring to a simmer over medium-high heat, stirring occasionally.
  • Season to taste with salt and pepper.
  • Ladle the soup into bowls then garnish with the chives and serve.

Serves 6

Note: I cheated a bit with this recipe. I was in need of a quick to make dinner, so skipped a few steps, and the recipe was still beautiful! I softened the fennel, leek and potato in the bottom of the pot with a little bit of garlic and olive oil. To that I added my stock and let simmer until tender. I then Bamixed the mixture, then added the cream, then served. Voila!

4 Responses to “Tanya and Curtis’ Fennel and Potato Soup”

  1. Natalie Donkin July 6, 2010 at 8:03 pm #

    LOOOOVE soups Erica.

    I made a similar soup to this to take to night duty last night. Fennel, Leek and Chickpea Soup. Absolutely delicious. I never put cream in mine either Erica, even for guests but do grate some fabulous parmesan and freshly ground black pepper over the top before serving.

    I agree. Best enjoyed in jimmy jams and with a loved one to keep each other warm on these chilly nights.

  2. Jen July 7, 2010 at 9:08 am #

    Instead of the blender one could use the Bamix Its quicker easier and u don’t loose any fibre which u do when u sieve it

  3. tdubdesign July 8, 2010 at 8:27 am #

    I’ve been blogged. Yey!

  4. 173misst July 8, 2010 at 1:36 pm #

    The first thing I’d like to say is that potato & leek is my all time FAVOURITE soup. Yum!

    The second thing is that image is absolutely beautiful! The chives have been placed perfectly and the composition is great.

    T.

Leave a Reply

