Things I Love Thursday – 1

8 Jul

I love old fashioned lolly shops.

I love the colourful jars, the little scoops, and the feeling that you get when you buy a few dollars worth of your favourite sweet.

When Mark and I were on our honeymoon, we found this little lolly shop just around the corner from our hotel in Mayfair, London. Each day, I would buy £1.00 worth of chocolate covered raisins – they are my FAVOURITE.

What is your favourite?

 

 

9 Responses to “Things I Love Thursday – 1”

  1. linzi July 8, 2010 at 12:38 pm #

    I love lolly shops too. I always walk in look around and then am suddenly overwhelmed by how much sugar I could so easily devour and I walk out – well, not before Brett insisting we buy some peanut brittle!
    Strawberry bon bons are my faves, along with chocolate bullets and scorched almonds and choc peanuts and…

  2. 173misst July 8, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

    Mmmm, lollies…

    I like those ones that come in little jars and they’re all different colours & flavours, whatever they are called. Now I want some!

    Erica, you are an evil temptress…

  3. Denise July 8, 2010 at 1:57 pm #

    Did you know that sweet shops used to be called ‘grubbers’ and that chocolate covered peanuts are called goobers. I love chocolate raisins too so I don’t want to know what they are called.

  4. markcaitken July 8, 2010 at 3:25 pm #

    Coke Bottles mmmm

  5. Nina July 8, 2010 at 6:21 pm #

    I am rather partial for nougat! Found a fantastic sweets shop in Cambridge and indulged myself (did not share).

  6. Sophie July 8, 2010 at 6:33 pm #

    Hey Erica.
    I prefer White chocolate covered raspberries myself. Mum (Denise) likes them too. I LOVE your blog. I want to be a chef when i’m older so i find the recipes very interesting. See you in September. 🙂
    Sophie

    • ericaaitken July 8, 2010 at 8:06 pm #

      Ooh Sophie, being a chef sounds like so much fun!
      We’ll have to swap recipes next time you come down!
      xo

  7. jess September 15, 2010 at 9:17 am #

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Things I Love Thursday: Bo Peeps | Miss T's Blog - April 6, 2011

    […] lolly girl, but when I was growing up on occasion my mum would let me have Bo Peeps, and when I saw this post I remembered the joy of these tiny little […]

Leave a Reply

