Vanilla Bean Panna Cotta

9 Jul

I’m having my family over for dinner on Monday night because my Mum and Dad are finally coming home from their European holiday!

I wanted to make a swanky dessert that people would love – but I wanted to prepare it beforehand, so I could listen to their stories, and NOT be standing in the kitchen preparing dessert missing out on all the fun! Yes, I have FOMO (fear of missing out…)

So I decided to make a beautiful, rich and creamy vanilla bean panna cotta – who DOESN’T love panna cotta!

I trialled it yesterday, and oh my goodness -what a success! It was beautiful and so tasty!

Enjoy the recipe, I hope you can get much much much use out of it, and check out my pretty photos! Thanks to my husband for sourcing the foam core!

Vanilla Bean Panna Cotta

Ingredients
  • 1 1/2 cups cream (may be lite)
  • 1 1/2 cups milk (may be lite)
  • 1 vanilla bean pod
  • 1/2 cup caster sugar
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons gelatine powder
  • Sliced strawberries to serve
Method
  • Place the cream and milk in a saucepan
  • Use a small sharp knife to split the vanilla bean lengthways, then scrape the seeds from inside the bean. Add the seeds and bean to the saucepan.
  • Slowly bring to the boil over a medium heat. Remove from the heat and set aside for 10 minutes.
  • Discard bean from cream mixture.
  • Add sugar and return to a low heat. Cook, stirring, for 5 minutes, or until sugar dissolves.
  • Place 2 tablespoons of boiling water in a small heatproof bowl. Sprinkle gelatine over water. Let stand.
  • Bring a small saucepan of water to boil. Remove from heat. Sit the bowl of gelatine in the water and stir until dissolved. Cool slightly, then stir into the cream mixture.
  • Pour cream mixture into pretty glasses or ramekins.
  • Refrigerate for 4-6 hours
  •  Serve dish with fresh berries.

Serves 6

5 Responses to “Vanilla Bean Panna Cotta”

  1. 173misst July 9, 2010 at 10:31 am #

    When my mother makes this she serves it in a wine glass and chops up the strawberries to sit on the top along with a strawberry soup, so you’re able to have a bit of strawberry in each spoon of panna cotta. It looks great too.

    xox T.

  2. Jen July 9, 2010 at 6:48 pm #

    I can’t wait 2 eat it my darling girl Cant wait to see you either xxx

  3. Karen vaux July 9, 2010 at 7:03 pm #

    looks great Ek! will try this one!!

  4. Sophie July 9, 2010 at 7:11 pm #

    hi Erica
    I LOVE the way your Panna Cotta looks! I’m writing it down in my recipe book just after the Pavlova one!

    🙂
    Sophie

  5. Bree July 21, 2010 at 10:29 am #

    Erica,
    Love your blogs! Made the panna cotta on the weekend as it’s my boyfriends favourite dessert. It was a success. Thanks a lot ! 🙂

Leave a Reply

