Tea with the Rich and Famous

27 May

During our whirlwind tour of the west coast of Canada (impressed that I know which coast we’re on Dad/Guy??) Mark and I felt very swanky indeed as we sipped tea and ate scones at the Empress Hotel during afternoon tea time.

We sat with the beautiful people.

We listened as the pianist expertly and delicately danced his fingers across the grand ebony and ivory.

And we pretended like we had money to burn – Revenge style. I channelled Victoria Grayson as hard as I possibly could – minus the plot to kill, treason, fraud and philandering husband of course.

On the menu were smoked salmon pinwheels, mango and curried chicken sandwiches on rye, cucumber and horseradish double decker sandwiches on white, free range egg croissant, sun-dried tomato mousse on crostini, freshly baked raisin scones with house strawberry jam and cream, batternburg cake, lemon meringue tart, rose petal shortbread, apple cheesecake and macarons.

Delectable to say the least.

Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

And on the way home, I stopped and smelled the roses. Because that’s what I do on holidays.

Image

5 Responses to “Tea with the Rich and Famous”

  1. Vanessa May 28, 2012 at 4:33 pm #

    Totally loving your blog posts! x

  2. Nina May 28, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

    Oh, what memories of our stay in this magnificent hotel! I am so glad you enjoyed your hight tea and please smell the roses every time you can, not only on holidays!
    I love you both xx!

  3. Richard Reid May 28, 2012 at 8:14 pm #

    ‘And we pretended like we had money to burn – Revenge style. I channelled Victoria Grayson as hard as I possibly could – minus the plot to kill, treason, fraud and philandering husband of course…..I love it!

    Keep living the life!
    Richie

    • Clansi May 29, 2012 at 10:00 pm #

      I am now very, very hungry!

  4. Rose October 11, 2012 at 9:54 am #

    Great post! I got hungry just reading the menu.

Leave a Reply

