Ten Things

14 Sep

#1. This post is inspired by my lovely sister-in-law’s post which was, in turn, inspired by Bec’s post

#2. I can’t wait to see Brooke Fraser in concert. I hope she plays Arithmetic and CS Lewis Song. My friend Stacey always states “I love Brooke Fraser, and I want to be her” – I share the same sentiment!

#3. I had a job interview yesterday, and it’s a job I’m pretty desperate to get. I hate interviews with the fire of a thousand suns – but what I hate even MORE, is that we must wait for SIX WEEKS until we find out if we were successful or not! Sadists…

#4. My husband and I spent this last weekend in Canberra for the Floriade. It was beautiful. The sun was shining, the jazz was wafting, the breeze was blowing, and hands were holding. We all know how much I love holding hands. I kept declaring that “My cup runneth over”.

#5. We stayed at the Hyatt Hotel in Canberra, which is super swanky. We were upgraded and given access to the Ambassador Lounge where we could nibble on pastries by day, and beautiful canapes by night. It was delightful. I delight in free stuff. Free expensive stuff particularly.

#6. I have a list of girls names, and a list of boys names compiled on my phone. I always add to it when I hear one I like. Too soon??

#7. I love my niece Lily Josephine within an inch of her life. She is breathtaking, and I love our dates where we just hang out together. I’m super excited to watch her grow up and hear what she has to say.

#8. I think Lily’s mum Linzi is the best mum out. Well, equal with Sammy and Clare-bear!

#9. My mum bought me a big bunch of poppies yesterday. I adore poppies, I love their colour and their fragility. They are wafting a soft, springy scent through my nice and clean house. Happy days.

#10. Lastly, happy birthday to my darling, most beloved husband for Saturday. I met him when he was 24 years old… and now he’s turning 30! I thought I loved him at 24, but boy I love him more now! John Lennon happened to get inside my heart before I was even born, and write the words I feel about you…

“Thought I’d been in love before,
But in my heart I wanted more
Seems like all I really was doing
Was waiting for you

From this moment on I know
Exactly where my life will go
Seems that all I really was doing
Was waiting for love

It’s real love
It’s real, yes it’s real love
It’s real”

Happy Tuesday!

6 Responses to “Ten Things”

  1. Nina September 14, 2010 at 11:57 am #

    You are so beautiful, my gorgeous grandaughter! You made me cry when I read your lovely post. I love you so much!

  2. Clansi September 14, 2010 at 12:07 pm #

    Oh boy, when I read “fire of a thousand suns” I saw “and it cost me a thousand” and I thought WHAT?!
    Glad to have misread, sucks about the 6 week wait!

    glad you loved your visit to my home town 🙂

  3. Denise September 14, 2010 at 1:50 pm #

    I love Poppies too.

  4. Linzi September 14, 2010 at 3:15 pm #

    You had me at ‘hello’. 😀
    #7 and #8 made me tear up just a little bit.
    Great song words about your beloved!
    PS. I really hope you get that job sweetpea! You were made for it! xo

  5. jess September 14, 2010 at 4:38 pm #

    I think i was born with dolly in my heart 😉

    Tumble outta bed
    And stumble to the kitchen
    Pour myself a cup of ambition
    Yawnin, stretchin, try to come to life
    Jump in the shower
    And the blood starts pumpin
    Out on the streets
    The traffic starts jumpin
    And folks like me on the job from 9 to 5

    Workin 9 to 5
    What a way to make a livin
    Barely gettin by
    Its all takin
    And no givin
    They just use your mind
    And they never give you credit
    Its enough to drive you
    Crazy if you let it

    9 to 5, for service and devotion
    You would think that i
    Would deserve a fair promotion
    Want to move ahead
    But the boss wont seem to let me in
    I swear sometimes that man is out to get me
    Mmmmm…

    They let your dream
    Just a watch em shatter
    Youre just a step
    On the boss mans a ladder
    But you got dream hell never take away

    On the same boat
    With a lot of your friends
    Waitin for the day
    Your shipll come in
    And the tides gonna turn
    An it’s all gonna roll you away

  6. Mick September 14, 2010 at 9:18 pm #

    I thought the baby name was established years ago?

Leave a comment